live like a heroine

Live your life like the heroine (or hero) you are

live like a heroine
“I am not ashamed of who I am, or what I’ve done.” Anna Karenina.

There are a couple of things I’ve accepted.

1. There is a permeable link between the literary world and our own physical one.

wait, what?

Imagination and inspiration are part of our everyday existence. Your life is a story, so write it how you want. Now, literature is life distilled.  Snapshots of human emotions and triumphs tied together. Your life, all of your crazy adventures, have the same magical, narrative quality.

When you read, you taste someone else’s life. Dorian Gray might have been a crazy mother fucker, but let’s face it…he gave hedonism a tempting description (which is the point, I think, of Mr. Wilde). Now, whenever I use rose water toner to wake myself up in the morning, I remember the scene in which Lord Henry dips his fingers into a “bowl of rose water,” and a connection is made. The scent is sweet and real, and so for an instant- that quote is flesh and blood.

Who doesn’t relate to what they read and remember? If you don’t, you should start. Literature is the best inspiration, and the humanities teach us to be human.

2. Your life deserves to be one enormously gratifying adventure.

And it doesn’t matter how you do it. Notice that some of literature’s best stories describe a moment, an instant where nothing happens and yet everything happens. Human emotions make the best stories, and this applies to real life. I chose excitement and the unknown (completely crazily) by packing up, quitting school, and moving to Paris. What about you?

XO.


Pleats and KeatsBLOGLOVIN’

FACEBOOK

4 thoughts on “Live your life like the heroine (or hero) you are”

    1. Aw, that’s so sweet of you. Yes I did, and I was thinking of writing a post about it soon- it’ll be tagged underneath inspiration. I believe anyone can “pack their bags and move to Paris.” Perhaps not right away, but everyone should be able to find adventure in this life. Unfortunately, not all of us have the means to do it right away- and I COMPLETELY understand that. When I moved to Paris, I had to apply as a nanny to make ends meet. I just want my readers to know it is completely possible to live life thoroughly filled with adventure, whether it’s Paris, or just exploring your own home town. YOU bring glamour, beauty, and mystery into your life, by being who you are and accepting that there is magic around every corner. Don’t ever stop believing that. Your Paris could be waiting…. much love. xo.

      Liked by 1 person

Reply here to comment.

